Bliss

unbeknownst to my being,

the bloodshed is rampant.

sipping my coconut juice and humming,

I stare at the plain.

the papers filled with slander

my ears filled with jungle beats,

my mind goes into oblivion.

I hear the cries of my people yet,

I hear the laughter of the children,

leaving a bitter-sweet taste into my mind, my mind goes into oblivion.

the kettle drum beats drown out the shots of guns

living in a false haven, my mind drifts into oblivion .

ignoring the flyers of protests, wars and rebellion pasted on lamp posts,

 I lie in relish with my book, reading for the umpteenth time:

“my country is my country, even though it is unjust to me”

Leave a Reply

